Where Has Dale Been?

You may have noticed a lack of activity here. I have been extremely busy over the summer, and there are no signs of this slowing down any time soon.

Earlier this year, K1 Speed opened an Indoor Kart Racing facility in north Austin, and successfully convinced me to part with a fair amount of money in the pursuit of a faster lap time. I must say, it is very addicting. The karts are all-electric, with quite a bit of power… and they have a monthly Adult League that I compete in. The last three weeks I have been competing in the Red Bull Kart Fight, in hopes of making it to the National Finals (I would also win a chance to meet the Red Bull F1 Team at the USGP in November). The fastest time recorded thus far was by a gentleman who posted a 25.914 second lap. My fastest is 26.441, and unless I can find an extra half a second… I don’t think I have much hope. A half a second is an eternity on a sub 30 second lap.

I have also been getting ready for the inagural Formula One United States Grand Prix on November 18th. I have three-day passes with my Dad for Turn 3, which is right at the beginning of the Silverstone/Suzuka style esses. I can hardly wait. Of course, I have requested the entire week off from work, and I will be taking part in any and every event that happens in relation to the USGP. Circuit of The Americas also announced that MotoGP, Rolex Grand-Am, Continental Tire, and World Endurance Championship series would be joining the calendar next year alongside American LeMans and V8 Supercars. Yes, it’s as if I died and have now found myself in Motorsports Heaven.

In December, I will be joining Cadillac for a V-Series Performance Lab event at the new track… where I will get to drive the CTS-V Coupe, Sedan, and Wagon!

On the work side of things, I was recently promoted and will be starting a new role at a new location within the company next week. This is great news, as I was beginning to worry about how I could possibly afford to go to all the racing events that will be coming to Austin next year. Everything happens for a reason, I suppose.

I also recently upgraded to a better computer, with a nice giant LED monitor… so now my drafting will be MUCH more efficient. The next order of business will be to get a Wacom pen tablet to make the process even better.

F1 2012 recently came out, and I have been playing this on Xbox lately. I have been attempting to perfect my lap time around Circuit of The Americas, and I can say right now: Sebastian Vettel will have his work cut out for him when he arrives in November to win the World Drivers Championship! Halo 4 will be coming out soon, and then this will waste even more time.

~ by ddmotorsports on October 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
