No Turning Back…

On Saturday, at about 7pm… I reached the point of no return in the engine rebuild. The main caps came off and the crank came out. Pistons and rods have been removed and dis-assembled. I am very pleased at the overall condition of the engine. The bearings looked excellent with very little wear. I will certainly be able to use new stock bearings and rings with no need for major machine work. I take the components to the machine shop tomorrow… and it is my guess that we will do minor honing and plateau the cylinder walls. I now have about a week of downtime with the major components at the shop… so I will use the time to clean every bolt, bracket, fastener and housing on the engine. Unfortunately I did not have my camera with me during the teardown… so there are no pictures at the moment. I will make up for this when we go to put everything back together. That is the important part anyway.

Words can’t describe the utter satisfaction I get from having this opportunity to rebuild the engine. It is something that I have always wanted to do ever since I watched my dad tinkering on the trucks as a kid. Many people told me to leave this job to the professionals. So far, I am glad I did not listen. You are what you dare…

~ by ddmotorsports on March 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
